Liturgy of the Eucharist Explained for Children

The Catholic Mass and Liturgy of the Eucharist EXPLAINED for Children!
Mass is the most important ceremony and form of worship in the Catholic Church. The Eucharist is thought to be the most important part of Christian life because that is when the Blood and Body of Christ is received in the form of bread and wine as a sacrifice.

There are four parts in a Catholic Mass. They are all the same all around the world but in different languages. The four parts are the Introductory Rites, the Liturgy of the Word, the Liturgy of the Eucharist, and Concluding Rites.

Today we are focusing on the third part, the Liturgy of the Eucharist. During the Liturgy of the Eucharist, the bread and wine is offered at the altar. The priest consecrates or blesses them, when he says that they ARE the Body (bread) and Blood (wine) of Jesus. According to the teachings of the Catholic Church, this turns them into the ACTUAL Blood and Body of Christ (transubstantiation) even though they still look, smell, and taste like bread and wine.

After this, the Lord’s Prayer is said. Next, people in the congregation do a sign of peace (usually a nod or handshake while saying “peace” or “peace be with you”) with one another to show that they are now one family in Christ.
We eat the Body and drink the Blood of Christ in a process called Holy Communion. Only baptized Catholics who are sorry for their sins are allowed to take part in Communion.

After Communion, there is a prayer to give thanks to God.


More Posts

Tuesday, 7th Week in Ordinary Time May 21, 2024

Father Rick’s Two-Minute Homily for Tuesday, 7th Week in Ordinary Time May 21, 2024, Mark 9:30-37 Who are the “least?” Healthy competition is good

Pentecost Sunday May 19, 2024

Father Rick’s Two-Minute Homily for Pentecost Sunday May 19, 2024, John 20:19-23 Unlock Those Doors The disciples knew Jesus for three years. They were

Send Us A Message